Welcome to your new home

10 03 2011

March 1, 2011

Welcome home!

We got here late last night, and OH BOY!  Do you like our new home?  It is a studio with a sectioned off kitchen/entrance.  We had not eaten any dinner, and after an 11 hour plane ride and about two hours in the car, we made it to the town we will be living in, We were told that we could go out and eat, and that we would have to furnish all of our pots and pans, and everything for the apartment ourselves besides the bed, a TV without cable, a table with two chairs, a washing machine and a mini fridge.  We were NOT expecting that.  We did have a very pink comforter and two pillows.  Under the comforter is what looks like another quilt, and that appears to be our bottom sheet???  At least that is the best I can figure.  Jeremy is ticked because when one of his checked bags was searched, he found that they hadn’t re-packed his gnome as carefully as he had, and the foot got crushed.

We were told of a store to go to for our needs, and we took 113,000 won to the store with us (which what we can figure is about $100 according to the little gadget on my computer.  On top of food, we had to get essentials that we thought would be here waiting for us.  Towels, pots and pans, etc…and needless to say, we didn’t wind up spending much on food, and spent it mostly on the other essentials of living, like a trash can.  We do have a washer, but no drying rack.  Since we were low on money and had to walk, we put a hold on the rack and got a pack of hangers.  On our way home, I met my first English speaking Asian people!  They were Jehovah’s Witness Missionaries, who were ready with an English version of the Watch Tower for us.  We tried to ask what city we were in, because we still don’t know.  They didn’t answer, but we were not sure they really understood that we were asking.

After coming home and trying Cheese Raman (interesting…not bad, but not my fav), we got more money and went back out.  We found an internet café, and finally made contact with the outside world.  We also finally figured out that we are in Namyangju City.    I got to chat with mom for a bit, but I cannot wait until we have internet here, so I can chat with people, and skype with people again!!!

After we were done on the internet, we went to Pizza Hut, and wow that was an experience!  The waitresses had on tuxedo shirts, and nice slacks!  We were broght some pear and mango jello, a bunch of sweet pickles, and jalapeños to eat with our pizza.  We had ½ pepperoni, and half beef bulgogi.  It was pretty good.  A medium is a pretty small pizza, but turned out to be just enough for us.  When we get pizza at home, we can eat so much, but maybe with traveling, we had a small 6 slice pizza, and it was almost to much. The pizza was tasty.  And I had an Orange Aid.  This was almost just orange juice and soda water…complete with pulp.    It is petty good!   I was kinda hoping for orange soda but I liked it.  We came home to relax for a while, but need to make one more store trip tonight for food and a few more necessities like shampoo…I should probably take a shower before my first day of work!  J

Okay, so we came home to relax, and oh my goodness, we fell asleep at 6pm!  Woke up at midnight, again at 2 and again at 4.  Jeremy’s phone actually woke us up at 4.  How come Student Loan collectors can get ahold of him, but he cannot make any calls out?  That stinks!  We never made it to the store, so we have to go in the morning…later in the morning anyway.  It is 12:48 pm at home, and here it is 5:48 am.  I don’t know if I should go back to sleep and try and force myself on their schedule…I know if I don’t  9pm is going to come very LATE tonight (when I get off work),  but I have been in bed for about 12 hours now and I don’t  really want to sleep anymore.  E-mart opens at 9am, and we don’t even have breakfast food until we go there, and besides, I still need shampoo!  I guess I am going to try to go back to sleep for a few.  17 hours of time difference really stinks to adjust to.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

